Murrumbidgee 2020 Public Meeting Invitation to the Public

Published on 05 November 2020

Murrumbidgee residents encouraged to interact virtually during 2020 public meeting

Murrumbidgee Local Health District (MLHD) announces the live streaming of the Annual Public Meeting through Facebook for the first time this year, making it easier for local residents to ask questions about hospital and community health services or provide feedback.

MLHD Chief Executive Jill Ludford encouraged residents to submit questions using an online form before the meeting starts at 1pm on Tuesday 24 November. Questions can also be posed during the meeting.

“We have always encouraged our communities to interact with us during our Annual Public Meeting, but this year we hope that engagement will increase, with technology making a virtual event more accessible,” Ms Ludford said.

Ms Ludford said MLHD values the feedback received from across the District’s 125,243 square kilometres – stretching from the Snowy Mountains in the east to the plains of Hillston in the northwest and all the way along the Victorian border (excluding Albury).

Ms Ludford will reflect on serious challenges faced over the past financial year, including the bushfires and COVID-19.

MLHD Board Chair, Gayle Murphy, will explain the District’s new strategic goals, and Director of Finance and Performance, Kevin Lawrence, will give a financial update.

The meeting’s keynote speaker, Dr Joe Murphy, is the first registrar to receive a Murrumbidgee Rural GP training contract under a new model designed to give GPs the additional skills – such as obstetrics or emergency medicine – required to become rural generalist doctors.

Another highlight will learning which two volunteers have been awarded the 2020 Individual Volunteer Award in recognition of the support provided to patients, carers and families, and the new and innovative ways they have engaged them. The winners, to be chosen by the Board Chair and Chief Executive, will have served as role models, promoting volunteer services and inspiring other volunteers.

Nominees for the award are Pat Watson (Gundagai Local Health Advisory Committee), Nancy Curtis (Hay), Naponda Hospital Auxiliary (Deniliquin), Adel Hattwell (Lake Cargelligo), Keith Turner (Gundagai), Maria Hart (Lake Cargelligo Physical Activity Leaders Network).

The winner of MLHD’s most coveted award, the Don Kendell Memorial Leadership Award, will be announced at the meeting, recognising an exceptional leader among MLHD staff who upholds the values of excellence, innovation and collaboration which help to improve the lives of people in our care.

NB: Questions can be submitted before the meeting through this link.


Tagged as: