Morven sits beside Billabong Creek. The creek provides a vegetated wildlife corridor and pleasant outlook from the historic Round Hill Hotel, dating back to the 1850’s as a Cobb & Co Station (before the crossing of Billabong Creek). The decline of Cobb & Co came with the arrival of the railway line through Culcairn.
The original Bridge Hotel was built around 1868 and was purchased by John O’Donoghue in 1897, with the Hotel remaining in that family until 1959. The name was changed to the ‘Round Hill Hotel’ about this time. The hotel is still licensed and fully operational.
The Morven Church was opened in 1874 and for 14 years was the only church in the district, offering both Anglican and Presbyterian services. St Peters is still used and has recently been restored by the Morven Community Committee. The church is still in the possession of the Anglican Church, making it the oldest in the Diocese of the Riverina.
Morven Public School was built in 1906, with a new building being constructed in 1928 to accommodate 52 pupils. The school closed in 1967 at which time there were only 9 pupils at the school.
- play some tennis.
- enjoy an ale and some country hospitality at the Round Hill Hotel.
- drop a line in Billabong Creek and take in the true country experience.