Greater Hume Australia Day Winners 2023

Published on 27 January 2023

Australia Day 2023 in Greater Hume was held at the fantastic Brocklesby Recreation Grounds in Brocklesby, it was a fabulous ceremony, with over 300 people attending.  Some of the highlights were the wonderful addresses given by our Australia Day Ambassador, Geoff Coombes OAM, St Paul’s Lutheran College captain’s Matilda Phegan and Isabell McRae and Cr Tony Quinn, Mayor, Greater Hume Council. The Australian flag was unfurled by representatives of Brocklesby Public School. Joy Shipard, Matthew Shipard, Arielle Shipard and Hannah Schilg performed Advance Australia Fair along with a collection of Australiana songs.

Eight residents of Greater Hume became Australian citizens following an official Australian Citizenship Ceremony, they were:

  • Silja Ham, Culcairn
  • Niaz Mohammad Mamun, Holbrook
  • Zawad Mohammad Uzair, Holbrook
  • Rahma Bintey Mufiz Mukta, Holbrook
  • Logeswari Santhiragasen, Holbrook
  • Analyn Talandron Sawyer, Jindera
  • Janet Smith, Jindera
  • Hoang Kim Thi Tran, Jindera

Congratulations to all the award nominees and winners who were recognised for their hard work on behalf of the Greater Hume community, and the winners were:

  • Citizen of the Year – joint winners Francis Fifield, Alison and Peter Campbell
  • Young Citizen of the Year – Aimee Riley, Jindera
  • Sports Person/Team of the Year – Henty Pennant Golf Team
  • Sports Volunteer/s of the Year - Henty Cricket Club Grants Committee (Henry Kilo, Lochlan O’Brien, Charles Wilson and Saul O’Reilly)
  • Community Event of the Year – Culcairn Street Party                  

School Citizenship Awards:

  • Billabong High School                            Hannah Godde
  • Brocklesby Public School                       Kimberley Perry
  • Burrumbuttock Public School                  Peter Hogan
  • Culcairn Public School                            Lilliana Haines
  • Gerogery Public School                          Zara Byrne
  • Henty Public School                                Evie Bahr
  • Holbrook Public School                           Abigail Pincott
  • Jindera Public School                              Anna Howard
  • St John's Lutheran School                      Thierry Mahon
  • St Mary MacKillop College                      Clare Horsfall
  • St Joseph’s Primary School                    Georgia Thomson
  • St Patrick's Primary School                     Alana Scholz
  • St Paul's Lutheran Primary School         Aaron Lieschke
  • Walbundrie Public School                       Oscar Coyle
  • Walla Walla Public School                      Toby Paech   

A big thank you to:

  • Brocklesby Community - for their outstanding job of working through the logistics of holding Australia Day in such a lovely setting and for providing a delicious breakfast and morning tea
  • Morgan Country Car Club
  • Brocklesby Bush Fire Brigade
  • St John’s Ambulance
  • Australia Day Council of NSW and National Australia Day Council

Photos below include (l to r):

Photos courtesy of Janene Whitty Photography.

Tagged as: