Step 5. Know your Region

Familiarisation Tours

Tourism Operators are encouraged to embark on familiarisation tours (famil's) in their own time if desired. The purpose of these tours is to build on your expert knowledge of the area and to be able to and provide exemplary service as tourism ambassadors of Greater Hume.

Tourism Operators are invited to visit the Greater Hume Visitor Information Centre to learn more about tourism in Greater Hume. If you are interested, contact Rebecca Sim, Tourism and Communications Assistant/Visitor Information Officer at the Visitor Information Centre on T: 02 6036 2422 or email to organise a time to visit.

About Greater Hume

Greater Hume is located in southern New South Wales, bordering with Victoria, between the major regional centres of Albury Wodonga and Wagga Wagga. Covering an area of 5,929km² it is roughly rectangular in shape approximately 110 km from east to west and 60km north to south. Greater Hume is linked with Canberra, Sydney and Melbourne by the dual carriage Hume Highway, by rail via the Main Southern Railway and to other regional centres via the Olympic and Riverina Highways.

Greater Hume has several major towns being Culcairn, Henty, Holbrook, Jindera and Walla Walla and smaller villages of Brocklesby, Burrumbuttock, Gerogery, Gerogery West, Morven, Walbundrie and Woomargama.

The towns and villages play two key roles - to service the productive rural industries in surrounding districts and the many visitors and traffic passing through Greater Hume en route to and from Albury, Wodonga, Wagga Wagga, Sydney, Canberra and Melbourne.

The eastern area features steeper and extensive vegetated (both remnant and plantation) country changing to low rolling hills and flatter country in the west. Woomargama National Park is located south of Holbrook and the smaller Benambra National Park northeast of Gerogery. The Carabost State Forest is located on the eastern boundary south of Carabost. The highest point in Greater Hume is Mount Jergyle at 889m located within Woomargama National Park.

Greater Hume borders the Murray River in two locations between Jingellic and Wymah in the east and between Splitters Creek and Bungowannah in the west. The Bowna Arm of Lake Hume provides the southern boundary between Wymah and Table Top. Another significant watercourse is the Billabong Creek and its many confluences.